Winter Skin Care

The winter weather is in full swing and that means my skin is totally paying the consequences! Throughout the winter months my skin transitions from sun kissed and glowing to an actual dry desert!  Now if you know me, then you’ll know I have never been a skin routine kinda gal! But since surpassing my mid twenties I figured it’s about time I started giving a damn!

I’m a big researcher, I can’t help it. I blame my nerdy obsession with learning and always being AND staying informed. So, obviously I had to research the best skin care products on the market before I made my purchase(s). I tackled Pinterest and Google, creeped my favourite bloggers and sat in front of YouTube for what felt like days! I finally composed my list of potentials and was so ready to tackle Sephora. I walked in there like an absolute BOSS and was ready to harass the next poor sweet sales lady who would kindly ask “Anything I can help you with?” ( little did she know JUST HOW MUCH she was about to help me with. Sorry Courtney! ).

 So there I was, my little (big) black and white bag in tow all ready to get my skin back to soft, subtle and glowing.

Fast forward two months later and I’m happy to report that a) I( kind of)  have a skin care routine! And b) my skin is back to normal and healthy! Big adult win! I’ve also noticed a difference in the appearance of my acne scars and an overall improvement in my skin tone.  I’m so excited to share my faves with you and I would love to hear about your daily essentials! I’m always open to trying new products. Leave your own faves and suggestions in the comments below!

s1802677-main-Lhero

1. Sephora Collection Cleansing + Exfoliating Wipes. Coconut Water

 I was never really big on cleansing wipes because they always left my skin feeling tight and super dry and I always felt like they never really did a good job at cleaning my skin.  The coconut water in these babies is really hydrating and soothing for dry skin. Not to mention they do a great job of getting rid of the days make-up before I wash my face. These are always my step one in my nighttime routine and really affordable. So perfect for traveling and wiping your face clean of that airplane/ airport yuckiness!

Shop the Sephora Collection Here

119243e6494c78df72ac594b7047dd98

2.  GLAMGLOW THIRSTYCLEANSE Daily Hydrating Cleanser

I’m a huge fan of Glamglow! I love their face masks so I knew I had to try the cleanser! This mud to foam cleanser is by far the best one I have used to date.  Side note, I did find that it doesn’t foam due to the thick consistency of the product but it does create a creamy lather, which is good enough for me! It leaves my skin soft and clean and smells super yummy!  Although it is designed for daily use, which I have absolutely no problems with, my girlfriend who has year round normal skin found this product to be drying if she used it everyday. That being said I may be in the market for a ‘summer’ cleanser as soon as the weather warms up, but for now IT IS keeping my dry winter skin hydrated. The full size bottle is a bit pricey, but they do have a travel size at a lower price point.

Shop the Glamglow Line Here

s1675297-main-zoom

3. Boscia Exfoliating Peel Gel

 I love knowing my dead skin is being washed away, but hate the harshness of a lot of exfoliators. This gel is super lightweight, gentle and effective. It got rid of all my dry patches without leaving my skin red and raw. I use it before applying my make-up and it leaves me with a smooth face for applying my foundation!

Shop the Boscia Line Here

s1605351-main-zoom

4. Origins High-Potency Night-A-Mins

This is the first night cream that I’ve used consistently and love! It’s perfect for dry skin especially during our harsh Canadian winters. It goes on thick, but it absorbs well leaving my skin moisturized and plump in the morning! I’m in love with the relaxing aroma which reminds me of being at a spa. It’s relaxing enough for bedtime without being overpowering. Todd has hated some of my skin care products in the past because of the smell. He said this one smells like orange juice, so I think that means he likes it! 

Shop the Origins Line Here

s1448745-main-zoom

5. Fresh Seaberry Moisturizing Face Oil

First things first, I really don’t think a face oil should replace your daily moisturizer, but it is a great add on to your daily skin care routine! Second, I’m absolutely in love with this product. I love that it has antioxidant-rich properties and moisturizing omegas 7 and 9 noted for protecting the skin from aging free radicals.

Shop the Fresh Line Here

11054496-1418988878-974708

6. First-Aid Beauty Ultra Repair Cream

Although I don’t use this on my face (you totally can!) this product is worth talking about. My hands get super dry because I don’t wear mittens when walking Gretzky (hehe) but this moisturizer hydrates deep down and provides immediate relief and protection for my thirsty skin. There is no greasy feel, and no fragrance which is perfect for even Todd’s sensitive baby skin. So yes, this is hockey player approved!

Shop the First-Aid Line Here

thumbnail_img_1069

thumbnail_img_1071

thumbnail_img_1073

Can’t wait to hear your faves! Have a fab day babes!

0001-104919117

One Comment Add yours

  1. laurynwadden says:

    I have the FAB Ultra Repair Cream but I do use it on my face 🙂 I have really dry skin and it’s also quite sensitive so I have to be careful what I use- but I find this works amazingly! x

    Like

Leave a Reply

