DIY: COFFEE SCRUB

OK! So let me set the mood for ya’ll.. It’s Sunday night, Matt’s at hockey, kids are in bed, glass of wine in hand and I’m feeling a little wild! I decided… to tackle a DIY!
So, I started pintresting and good lord knows how fast 5 minutes turns into 3 hours. After I planned my entire wedding, a month worth of meals that I’ll probably never make, activities for the kids that they’ll probably never sit through (a mom can dream right?), I remembered why I was there to begin with- Oh yeah, coffee scrubs! I decided I was going to scrub myself down with coffee beans!

Before I get going with this coffee thing let me tell you guys, there are some strange skin regimens out there! I read that Kate Middleton owes her flawless complexion to bee venom – Yes BEE VENOM!!!  J.Lo, its J.Lo right? Or is it Jenny from the block or Jennifer Lopez?

Anyways…

She does placenta facials! Kind of gross, but I mean, whatever, I love her, she’s still fabulous. Leech therapy is another strange regimen I came across and I actually saw leech therapy done on RHOBH and I thought it was odd but to each their own I mean Heather Dubrow looks phenomenal! Last but not least BIRD POOP FACIALS! Yes that’s a thing, a very expensive thing. But before you go collecting bird droppings, this cosmetic procedure uses dried, powdered and sterilized bird feces…still not sure how I feel about this one.

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

After reading all this I was feeling pretty good about my DIY coffee scrub. Let’s be real I have two boys, three and five, so after all the poop talk I hear all day the last thing I want to be doing is rubbing it on my face.

A little fun fact: If you’re a coffee drinker you could actually repurpose the leftover coffee grounds in your filter instead of throwing it in the trash- reduce, reuse, recycle! I didn’t know much about coffee scrubs so I did a little research and decided to let you in on the beauty of this exfoliator! Coffee grounds actually have amazing benefits for your skin such as: exfoliating and anti inflammatory properties, temporary reduction of cellulite, improved circulation, reduced eye puffiness and smooth skin. Bonus, NO HARSH CHEMICALS!!

The thing that got me is that coffee is cellulite’s #1 enemy. So I went ahead and tested this thing out, summer will be here before we know it and those dimples are in the wrong spot- see ya later!
Coffee Scrub Ingredients:
1/4 cup Coconut Oil
1/2 cup Ground Coffee
1/2 cup Raw Sugar
1 tbs Olive Oil 
2 drops Vanilla Extract
So I combined all this stuff in a bowl and it actually smelled really good!! I didn’t smell like a walking coffee bean! Now just a word of advice I strongly suggest you scrub in your shower! Obvious right? However, I was experimenting for all you lovelies, so I had coffee scrub trailing from my kitchen to my bathroom. I jumped in the shower and scrubbed and as soon as I washed it off,  I felt rejuvenated and incredibly soft. The coconut oil served as a great moisturizer and the raw sugar gave an extra exfoliating kick paired with the vanilla which made it smell sweet.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

There’s something about a DIY project that makes me feel very domesticated, I make all these promises to myself that this will be the year I do everything on my own- that’s as far as that goes, does anyone actually have the time?
Bonus! With this recipe, there are tons leftover so you could throw it in a mason jar and it makes a cute bathroom decoration ready for quick use! After all was said and done I would most definitely recommend trying this!
Enjoy!

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

0001-104918587

 

Leave a Reply

